A couple of suggestions

Feb 3, 2009 at 2:31 PM
Edited Feb 3, 2009 at 2:34 PM
Greetings Asperity,

Thanks for a fantastic initiative. This program helps bring our gaming to the next level, and we are many here on the European community that follow this project with great interest - myself included. Having tested the application to a certain extent, I have a few suggestions that I would like to share. Seeing that I'm no programmer myself some of them might be unrealistic and would require a great effort to implement, but I rest assured that you'll stop me when it becomes wishful thinking.

Exporting data. Learning how my combat table is composed is very helpful, but I find the true value in the comparison of other combat tables - be it different skill sequences, different choice of weapons or maybe even in different environments. As such, the crucial part of CStats to me is in the ability to export the data and compare it with other bits of data. The post on the US forums about DPS in Library of Steel is a good example. So, here's a few things that could help make it more convenient:
  • Export data to a CSV file ready for use in Excel (XML needs some adjustments to work).
  • Include in the file the same data that's shown in CStats - average damage, % of total damage etc.
Collapsing encounters. The nature of these things is that you need a fairly large amount of data to make it statistically accurate. I therefore think it would go a long way if you could collapse the encounters. Say you've killed 10 bears in Bree-land; instead of exporting the data bear by bear, it would be great if CStats could bring a summary of those fights. Ultimately, I want to see a spreadsheet of my performance in Dark Delvings - not on 30 different encounters in Dark Delvings. As I see it, there are two ways this can be achieved:
  1. Make an "Export Summary" button that adds all of the logged encounters together. One displaying the grand total, and one sorted by mob type and level.